Happiness Curriculum (CHVTL)

मुख्य पृष्ठ/ Programmes/ Happiness Curriculum/ Happiness Curriculum

Happiness Class is a program developed by the Government of NCT, Delhi for students from Nursery to Grade 8. The curriculum was introduced in 2018 by His Holiness Dalai Lama. 

The Curriculum is a path-breaking initiative that questions and challenges the traditional pedagogy and practice. The curriculum believes that the purpose of education is to create confident, mindful, responsible, and happy individuals who collectively build a happy and harmonious society. The Happiness Curriculum is an endeavor to guide the attention of students towards exploring, experiencing, and expressing happiness in not just the momentary but deeper and sustainable forms as well. This will enable the learner to comprehend happiness within self, relationships and society. This enables a paradigm shift where a learner moves from searching happiness externally through senses to, be able to ensure it within oneself through Learning & Awareness and ensure continuity of values.


“We have given the best talent to the world and the best professionals to the industries, we will now deliver the best human beings to society and the nation.” - Mr. Manish Sisodia, Deputy Chief Minister and Education Minister

Objectives of the Curriculum-

  • The objectives of the happiness curriculum are as follows:
  • To develop self-awareness and mindfulness amongst learners.
  • To inculcate skill of critical thinking & inquiry in the learners.
  • To enable learners to communicate effectively and express themselves freely and creatively
  • To enable learners to understand their expectations in relationships, develop empathy, and ensure healthy relationships with family, peers & teachers
  • To enable learners to apply life skills to deal with stressful & conflicting situations around them
  • To develop social awareness & human values in learners to engage in meaningful contribution in society
  • To develop holistic approach to education in a universal context

What is the Happiness Curriculum based on?

The curriculum is based on co-existential philosophy (Madhyasth Darshan) propounded by philosopher A. Nagraj. The Happiness Curriculum is designed based on The Traid of Happiness or pillars of happiness. And it aligns with the guidelines of the National Curriculum Framework 2005. The curriculum framework and design were created by a team of professionals which includes mentor teachers and counselor psychologists from Directorate of Education, officials from the State Council of Educational Research and Training, Delhi, and partner organizations like Abhibhavak Vidyalaya, Circle of Life, Dream a Dream, Blue Orb Foundation and Labhya Foundation.


Triad of Happiness

The curriculum is designed on the basis of the Happiness Triad. The overall purpose is to support students in their journey to sustainable happiness through engagement in meaningful and reflective stories and activities. Happiness classes will enable students to reflect on the relationship between their feelings, thoughts, behaviour and their impact on themselves, family, society around them and the natural environment. The syllabus is universal and designed age appropriately. Like any other subject, students will have a happiness period every day. Teacher’s Handbook for Happiness Class includes a description of mindful activities, stories and activities with reflective questions, and self-expression. The intended outcome is to enhance students’ level of awareness, mindfulness and deepen learning to lead a happier and meaningful life.


Structure of Happiness Classes

Impact of Happiness Curriculum

The Curriculum has been catering to the needs of 8 lakh students from grade Nursery- 8th, who experience a daily 40 minutes happiness class and 21000 happiness teachers who are also benefited from the curriculum by practicing it daily along with their students.